Just another travel blog

Universities, Coursework and Travel Guides

Hello again everybody!

I don’t really have much to report back from the past month, everything has been relatively quiet on the Tanzania front! There has been no need to do anything for my trip yet but in the coming weeks/months I should be getting vaccinated, getting my travel insurance sorted and buying all clothing/equipment I need for the trip.

I’ve just started half-term today (for those of you that aren’t familiar with “half-term” we get a week off school every 5/6 weeks as a break in the main term) and so far all I have done is look at universities! In fact this is practically all I have been doing for the past few weeks! My life seems overrun by different universities saying “why their medical school is the best” so I am presented with so much choice I feel like a child in a sweet shop! But I have managed to cut my options down to 5 medical schools; Kings College London, University College London, Oxford, Southampton and Barts and the London. All of these are great for me as they allow the option to intercalate my medical degree which is what I want to do. I think my decision was made a lot easier when I realised that I didn’t really want to study up north! ๐Ÿ˜› Now all thats left to go is; visiting universities, writing my personal statement, waiting to hear if I get an interview, doing the interviews, waiting in suspense for offers to come through (if I get one :S), then achieving the required grades! Its seems like such a long list of things to do but I know that it’s all going to happen so quickly!

Anyway I started rambling on there, my apologies! Recently, I have also been tasked with my coursework presentation for English, not good! The worst thing about the presentation is the choice of texts we can talk about. We have been given the choice of talking about either Hard Times by Dickens, some poetry by Larkin or a play called “Miss Julie” by August Strindberg! What a dull choice! Anyway I have chosen to write about Hard Times and the title of my presentation ย is “Do the characterisations and descriptions used in Hard Times show Dickens’ feelings about the society he lived in?” – It’s a pretty good title and will be a pretty good presentation I think! What are your thoughts? Only problem being that most of my half term is going to be taken up by this presentation ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Oh well you have to suffer to get good grades sometimes!

Finally yesterday, after searching for a while, I managed to unearth our travel guide for Tanzania! Looking at the pictures of Tanzania I doubt that I will ever want to leave this beautiful place! It just looks so lush, vibrant and wild! I can already tell that my work experience in Tanzania isn’t just going to form a part of my CV, its going to form part of me as a person.

Thank you for reading this slightly rambled post! I will be back as soon as I have done something crucial for Tanzania or failing that at the same time next month to share what I have been up to!

Louis

3 responses

  1. Tenzin

    I was wondering whether you know anything about the travel insurance. Does it matter whether you book your flight and then fill the application or fill the application and then book the flight because I’ve filled my application and in the process of booking my flight to Tanzania as well but I just found out about exclusive flight deals and insurance from the application. I would greatly appreciate your feedback.

    Thank You

    March 6, 2011 at 2:16 pm

    • Well i’ve done my flights already and i’m going to book my travel insurance later. I think you need your flight dates/details for the travel insurance anyway so i think it’s best to get flights sorted then do travel insurance ๐Ÿ™‚

      March 6, 2011 at 7:58 pm

      • Tenzin

        Thank You!

        March 8, 2011 at 11:53 am

Leave a Reply

